top of page

This very attractive map of Ancient Egypt divided into four districts: Aegyptus Inferior, Heptanomis, Aegyptus Superior or Thebaise, and Arabia Petraea that includes Gaza.  The Nile domates, shown from the Cataracts Syene to the Mediterranean Sea.  Great deal of detail is shown, including the pyramids, the Natron valley, rivers, cities, roads, oases etc.  Both ancient (underscored) and contemporary place names are included.   A table gives the Nomorum, or administrative districts of Upper and Lower Egypt, which are depicted by Roman numerals on the map.   Published in London by Robert Sayer.

1765 d'Anville Map of Ancient Egypt

SKU: 2530i
  • Title

    Aegyptus Antiqua Mandato Serenissimi Delphini Publici Juris Facta. . . MDCCLXV 

  • Map Maker Specifics

    J d'Anville, 1765, London

  • Size

    19.3 x 12.3 in. plus margins

  • Condition

    Very Good - Excellent.  Slight toning, mostly at margins.  Slight soiling.  Nicely color outlined.

bottom of page